What types of supply chain certifications are there?

supply chain certificate

What types of supply chain certifications are there?

There are supply chain certificates available from APICS, The Association for Operations Management, and the Institute for Supply Management (ISM) both have certifications that require a college degree and/or relevant experience in the manufacturing industry. Accenture offers a 40-hour certification for high school graduates in the manufacturing industry. There are also similar programs available through some four-year colleges.

APICS offers the Certified Supply Chain Professional (CSCP) designation, as well as two related designations, the Certified in Production and Inventory Management (CPIM) and the Certified Fellow in Production and Inventory Management (CFPIM).

ISM currently offers three supply-chain designations:

  • Certified Professional in Supply Management (CPSM)
  • Certified in Supply Management (CSM)
  • Certified Professional in Supplier Diversity (CPSD)

Accenture’s Retail Supply Chain Certification (RSCC) is a 40-hour certification program.

Which program you choose will depend on the amount of education and experience you currently have; the weight and prestige you would like your certificate to carry; and the time, effort, and money you can dedicate to earning your designation.

Those who are just starting out in their career should look at the APICS CPIM and CFPIM designations, or Accenture’s RSCC.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *