APICS Certification

apics logo

APICS  (The Association for Operations Management) offers three professional designation programs for operations and supply-chain-management professionals. These designations represent a manufacturing industry standard that promotes career growth, efficient business management, and valuable knowledge sharing. Earning these credentials requires rigorous study of specific operations and supply-management topics. On this site, you will find information about the three APICS designations, how to acquire them, and where to find exam resources.

APICS has recently (April 2014) merged with SCC, Supply Chain Council, which will add even more certifications to their portfolio. This page will be updated as soon as the merger details are finalized.

APICS Certifications

  1. APICS Certified in Production and Inventory Management (CPIM)
  2. APICS Certified Supply Chain Professional (CSCP)
  3. APICS Certified Fellow in Production and Inventory Management (CFPIM)

Certification Process

The first designation to pursue is the APICS CPIM. This designation is obtained by passing five cumulative knowledge exams about manufacturing production and management. Each test is scheduled individually. The CPIM designation is a prerequisite for both the CSCP designation and the CFPIM designation.

Manufacturing professionals with the appropriate level of education and experience who have obtained the CPIM credential may submit an eligibility application for the CSCP and/or CFPIM designations. CSCP candidates must take an additional exam to receive their designation; CFPIM candidates complete a selection of professional outreach projects to earn their designation.

Exam Information

The APICS CPIM and CSCP exams are computer-based assessments that can be taken throughout the year. Exams are proctored in-person at sanctioned testing sites.

North Americans who sit for APICS CPIM and CSCP exams do so through a third-party agency called Pearson VUE. Outside of North America, various partner agencies proctor exams. Click the links, below, to locate an exam center or partner:
North American
Outside North America

Test takers can register online or over the phone and should be prepared to provide the following information:
• APICS Customer ID Number
• Method of Payment (valid exam voucher, credit card, electronic check)
• Personal Information (mailing address, telephone number, email address)
• Exam Information (name of exam, preferred testing date, testing location)
Please see individual certificate pages for pricing details.

Certificate Maintenance

Certified operations personnel can maintain their APICS designations by accruing professional development points through relevant events, outreach, continuing education coursework, and professional memberships. If a designation has not been maintained after five years, it will be suspended. If action is not taken to maintain the suspended designation within another five years, then the designation is terminated. Professionals hoping to regain a designation after it has been terminated will be required to retake their exams.

Click here to view complete maintenance details.


Back to the logistics certification page. 

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *